PDA

View Full Version : Just switched to two-handed throw

frankteo
12-24-2011, 10:17 PM
I was always a right handed bowler all my life. I played frequently as a kid but never got good enough to make anything of it. I picked it up again in high school as we played in p.e. class. Then had a period of about 4 years where I didn't play at all. Now for the past month me and my friends have been playing regularly every monday. I finally broke down and bought a ball and have been playing a few times a week. I'm new to throwing a hook. I have the form down right, but can't seem to get the hook I'm looking for because I'm not strong enough. Earlier this week I injured my hand after playing 9 straight games. Too much stress on my hand. Today I decided to throw lefty because I could not use my right hand properly. This isn't the first time I had to throw lefty in my life due to an injury. Was barley breaking 100. Then I decided to try the two handed throw just for the hell of it. Got the biggest hook I ever threw and was extremely accurate. I felt like I really could control the ball easily. So I think I may be a two handed bowler from now on. Monday I'll try it out again and see what kind of scores I can produce.

J Anderson
12-24-2011, 10:36 PM
Good luck. When I watch guys like Belmonte and Palermo, all I can think is that if I ever tried it I'd hurt myself. I think the main problem that you will face is that very few people know how to coach a two-hander. When you hit a plateau in your skill level, or worse a slump, you'll be on your own in figuring things out,

frankteo
12-24-2011, 10:43 PM
You know it felt really comftorable throwing with two hands. But I only played one game so I can't really say too much. I'm not really looking to become extremely good in bowling. I just wanna be able to put up some higher numbers from time to time. Golf is my main sport and bowling is just something I do for fun. Wouldn't mind playing in some leagues one day though.

tumblebug1949