PDA

View Full Version : [Beginner] Help with targeting

Linsolv
02-09-2012, 08:22 PM
I'm a beginner, started a month or two ago now. I've got to the point where I can throw the ball pretty consistently on the same line, but only if I'm throwing from my usual position and my usual line. This can really get me into trouble, as you can imagine, as it makes picking up spares hit-or-miss at best. However, even bigger is the problem that I can recognize what the ball is doing and where things are going wrong but I can't make adjustments without my ball going wildly off-target.

I was at my bi-weekly bowling engagement this evening, getting rather frustrated: I was hitting the pocket VERY light and consistently leaving 1s, 2s, and sometimes 4s. My ball was just not hooking like I wanted. I adjusted my feet to little effect, and I think it has to do with the way I aim.

I'm sure it's very bad, but I look at the dots on the foul line and target with those rather than the targeting arrows, because I know I can target the 2nd dot but the 2nd arrow is just essentially hoping that it'll go to the spot I wanted. In my 3rd game, I tried (essentially by accident) stepping a bit left on my 5th step so that instead of the 16th board my toe was around the 21st (guessing, I didn't look so I have to estimate by feel) and that had my ball going right to the pocket.

So the two-part question is this:

1) Is there some sort of drill I can do to work on targeting properly, and adjusting, other than just keeping my nose to the grindstone?

2) What about my ball's roll would be changed by letting my foot drift left on the last step of my approach, since I'm still going essentially straight at the 10th board (at least, straight between the foul line and the target arrow)?

striker12
02-10-2012, 12:28 AM