PDA

View Full Version : New bowler from Texas

Supraman
02-25-2012, 04:01 PM
Hi, I'm a college student wanting to get serious scores with bowling (my goal is 200ish). I'm a left handed bowler, average score is only about 125ish. I love to hook those house balls and knock those pins down. I play once or twice a week depending on my schedule at my university. I would like to get a custom ball but i'm not sure what weight is right for me. Normally i play with the 10lb house balls. Are there any tips that can help me get started? I have my own shoes already too :)

J Anderson
02-26-2012, 08:56 AM
Generally having a ball that has been drilled to fit your hand will allow you to throw about two pounds heavier. Ten pounds seems very light for an adult. A good pro shop will not only fit the ball correctly, but will also suggest the best weight for you.

I would suggest starting with an entry level reactive resin ball with a fingertip grip to start with. Any money that you can save use for some coaching so you can develop good habits from the start.

kev3inp
02-26-2012, 10:59 AM
What John said. Check with your local pro shop and see what kind of deals they can offer. Lots of times they'll have ball and bag deals, or have used equipment you can pick up really cheap.

striker12
03-02-2012, 03:05 PM
well the ball weight is up too you but you should go about 14lbs but first praactice with a 14lb or heavy house ball too see how it fells and get use to that cause defently a 10lb ball is was too lite for you.