PDA

View Full Version : New to the sport!! and new to the forum have some questions please help!!

NYallstar
05-08-2012, 01:42 AM
hey everyone my name is nick, and im some what new to the sport of bowling. i have been bowling for about 4 months now and need some help and have questions.....

now i dont know what style of bowler i am i never really thought about it or knew what a stroker, tweener, or cranker was, i dont know my ball speed i guess its somewhee between slow and medium lol ball speed. those things really never grabbed my attention since all ive been doing for the past 4 months is learning to bowl and bowl a hook. my average i would have to say would be a 120-130 and i bowl at my local AMF lanes. dont even know the lane conditions either...which idk if hat is a problem how would i know what the conditions are ? I have got my basic steps down like holding the ball and stuff. ill list below the things i would liek answers too f you guys on here can help me out!

1. How do you know where to stand ( middle, to the left, to the right )?
2. where should you aim on the boards ? between the head arrow and the arrow next to it on the right ?
3. i bowl with a cyclone that a friend gave me and i got it drilled fingertip so it fits like a glove perfect is this a good ball to learn the hook and all ?
4. the guy at my pro shop drilled a basic layout on my ball with the pin above and to the right of the right finger hole is this okay to learn how to hook ? or should i get a layout that will give me a better shot of hooking ?

and finally, i feel like i can get a hook packed down but the ball just isnt hooking for me im doing all the right movements and all that but the ball just goes tot he gutter its aggravating....

orry if this is to much just over whelmed!! i want to be able to hook! lol just dont know where to stand on the boards and how to release the ball ( if thats what im doing wrong))

chrono00
05-08-2012, 02:07 AM