PDA

View Full Version : Can we play hook with 12 lbs ball?

biskutmarie
05-10-2012, 10:43 PM
Hi ALL,
Cuurently i'm using 12.6 lbs Ebonite Cyclone.
I can see it hooks a bit. But if I want to improve my hook, can I use this ball?
I'm a beginner in hook. before I play spinner.
Please advice.

martin
05-10-2012, 11:38 PM
any ball can hook if we do it properly.. that's what i think.. but maybe 12 lbs is a little light to get consistant strikes? maybe some others can enlighten on that..

JaMau24
05-11-2012, 12:10 AM
12 pound balls will leave 5 pins, and 8-10 splits more often on a nice pocket shot.

biskutmarie
05-11-2012, 12:23 AM
12 pound balls will leave 5 pins, and 8-10 splits more often on a nice pocket shot.

ok... i need to improve my technique first. before thinking to get heavier ball.... some people say that 12 lbs ball's core is not like the 14 lbs core. is it right?

Etrain
05-11-2012, 01:29 AM
ok... i need to improve my technique first. before thinking to get heavier ball.... some people say that 12 lbs ball's core is not like the 14 lbs core. is it right?

it depends on the actuall ball,

i personally wouldnt recomend anything under 14lbs unless your physically not capable
(most pros use 14-16lbs)

bowl1820
05-11-2012, 07:25 AM

Most balls once they drop to 11 or 12 pound or less, change to just a generic core. It's said that once a ball gets below that weight, the hi-tech core doesn't make that much of a difference.

But If you watch there are some balls that do have the hi-tech core though, you just have to check.

As for weight you might should read this article by Ron Clifton.

Click here for "WHAT WEIGHT BALL? COULD 14 LBS BE YOUR "SWEET WEIGHT"?" (http://www.bowl4fun.com/ron/tip14.htm)

martin
05-12-2012, 12:30 AM
http://www.bowl4fun.com/ron/tip14.htm