PDA

View Full Version : Abralon Pad Vs Sandpaper

eugene02
05-24-2012, 12:18 AM
Was at the pro shop a couple of days ago, after drilling his ball, he used a sandpaper instead of abralon pad to sand his ball.. with a spray of water.. wet sanding i guess.. but does the sandpaper does the job same as an abralon pad? whats the difference between this 2? sorry.. noob here..

bowl1820
05-24-2012, 07:28 AM
They Both do the same job. The main difference is the grit. Abralon pads use the European FEPA grading (the "P" scale), not the U.S. ANSI/CAMI grading. The P scale has a tighter tolerence (+/-) for the grit size. So gives a little more accurate cut.

Regular wet/dry sandpaper Is perfectly okay to use, it was used long before abralon came along. The grits are different and don't have direct abralon matches.

You can see how the sizes compare using my bowlers grit chart here.
http://home.earthlink.net/%7Elitefrozen/downloads/bowling_grit_chart.pdf

eugene02
05-24-2012, 08:58 AM
They Both do the same job. The main difference is the grit. Abralon pads use the European FEPA grading (the "P" scale), not the U.S. ANSI/CAMI grading. The P scale has a tighter tolerence (+/-) for the grit size. So gives a little more accurate cut.

Regular wet/dry sandpaper Is perfectly okay to use, it was used long before abralon came along. The grits are different and don't have direct abralon matches.

You can see how the sizes compare using my bowlers grit chart here.
http://home.earthlink.net/%7Elitefrozen/downloads/bowling_grit_chart.pdf

wow cant understand a thing in the chart >_<

billf
05-24-2012, 10:46 AM
I can. thanks for another informative chart. i didn't know abralon used a different grading system.

DanielMareina
05-24-2012, 10:53 AM
Excellent info as usual Bowl1820.