PDA

View Full Version : How to teach a free arm swing?

swingset
06-01-2012, 06:55 PM
My wife is brand new to the game, never threw a ball in her life until age 44. She up and decided to start, and wanted me to show her how to bowl. I'm actually a pretty good teacher for fundamentals, have showed a lot of people how to bowl and they've all thrived and went on to bowl really well. I know the popular method is a USBC coach, but there aren't many around us and my wife isn't into that kind of thing at all...just not something she'd want to do (hard to explain, but let's just say that I'm gonna be the one to guide her).

I got her a Storm Polar Ice 8lb urethane to start on, and the weight is great for her. She's got a solid 4-step approach - timing is great, always releases at the ankle. Her balance is good, foot and opposite hand go out and she keeps her head right above the ball on release. To see her roll a successful ball, you'd think she had the game nailed. Even her release looks good...stays behind the ball and comes out clean.

Where she's really having trouble is a free "back and through" arm swing. She's bringing it back to the outside, or at release jerking it across her body. It either goes straight down the lane or just slams into the gutter...no in between. I tell her to relax her shoulder and let the ball come back as freely as possible and bring it straight up through after release. She'll correct sometimes and she's great, then bang right back to hurling it left or right, badly. She is frustrated because she says she can't perceive the difference between a good swing and a bad one. I kind of get that, sometimes I can't feel a bad back swing but can see the results. I've told her that it's a matter a clean pushaway and letting the ball drop freely and not imparting movement on it.

The question is, how to get her muscle memory to train the correct swing? Is there a good drill that can help establish that muscle memory?

billf
06-01-2012, 08:24 PM