Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I need a heavier ball?

Blog Entries
    Chats: 116

Default Do I need a heavier ball?

Please take a look at these videos. At times when I hit the pocket it is solid but other times when it looks the same I leave the 10!

http://www.youtube.com/feed/UCj3P-gxVUVXAQp8hh-yXZCA/u

I am using a 12# ball due to medical reasons and I really don't want to go higher. Also I am using a Columbia 300 u-dot (urithane). Would using a NEW ball with a better core help? If so, what brand and model? I am sure I can go up to 13# but not any higher.

I am also using a 12# plastic house ball for some spares. I am still working on my targeting.

Thanks for the help folks! More videos from last night are currently being uploaded as I type. Thanks!

Chats: 0

Unclemantis, I'm no expert but what I'm seeing in the videos is your ball is deflecting off to the right on every shot. This tells me that a heavier ball would help greatly. I see you don't put your thumb in the ball. If you can, I'd go no lighter than a 14# ball and something more aggressive on the back end for more drive through the pocket.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Jason View Post
    Unclemantis, I'm no expert but what I'm seeing in the videos is your ball is deflecting off to the right on every shot. This tells me that a heavier ball would help greatly. I see you don't put your thumb in the ball. If you can, I'd go no lighter than a 14# ball and something more aggressive on the back end for more drive through the pocket.
    Due to a car wreck a decade ago I am unable to bring my shoulder all the way back and the way my shoulder turns I am pretty much stuck doing what i am doing right now.

Would there be a noticible difference between a 12 and a 13# or should i really try with a 14#? This already puts a good deal of straign on my shoulder due to my collar bone healing at the wrong angle. I really want to get back into the game semi-pro.