Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Technique Questions.

Bowler
    Chats: 4

Default Technique Questions.

A week ago today I purchased my first finger tip ball(Roto Grip Totally Defiant). In the past week I have bowled atleast 30 games. I have tried figuring out the modern release that I have been reading about but what seems to work best for me is a straight back and straight forward type of motion. I also have to wear a Robby's Original wrist support due to a really bad right wrist. The local pro shop guy was having me line up on the #10 board and release up the 10 board. I never could find the right side of the pins until I started reading up on the forum and figured out that I needed to start moving left while keeping the same release point. My question is this. Last night while practicing I actually counted the boards and found that I was lining up on the 24 board but yet still releasing on the 10 board and was finding the pocket quite well. I am new to this style of bowling so please forgive me if the terminology is not correct. Do not know if the ball speed will help anyone out but according to the screen my average speed is between 17.3-17.9 mph. Also, when I am missing I am leaving a lot of 6-10, 9, and 10 pins. Spare shooting has been good and have been shooting between 165-190 almost everytime. Would love to get it over the 200 mark.

Chats: 204

I always wonder what constitutes playing "inside". Because when I use my Hammer ball I try to play "inside" where my left foot is on the 24-27 board, I'm laying it down over the 15-16 board, and it's going out toward the 9-11 board.