Thread: Shredding my finger!

Pin Crusher
    Chats: 0

Default Shredding my finger!

Just returned to bowling after a 6-year hiatus. After being back for a few weeks, I noticed that I'm literally splitting my middle finger down the right side of the nail (right handed). I'm a machinist, so it's not like my callouses went away. I have new lifts, which are the same lifts I've always used. Am I just getting old, or should I be looking at a different type of lift? I've been using a wedge all my adult life.

Chats: 256

Should probably get your fit checked by your pro shop.
    High Sanctioned Scratch Game - 300(12) Hi Sanctioned Scratch Series - 822(3)
    2016/17 Book Average=221, 2017/18 Composite Average=223
    Equipment in the bag - Storm Crux Prime, Storm Physix, Roto Grip Idol, Roto Grip Idol Pearl, Roto Grip Hyper Cell Fused, Storm Sure Lock, Storm Drive, Roto Grip Winner Solid, Roto Grip Haywire, Storm Fever Pitch, Roto Grip Red ball spare.

Rev Rate 400. Speed 18 at heads, 16.5-17 at pins. Axis tilt 10, Axis Rotation 55. PAP 5 5/8 x 5/8 up

Of course finding a competent shop may be harder than you think. Some assume you know nothing and will fit to what they think is correct even if it means the bowler will be in pain or develop callouses.

Super Moderator
    Blog Entries
    Chats: 554

Quote Originally Posted by Timmyb View Post
    Just returned to bowling after a 6-year hiatus. After being back for a few weeks, I noticed that I'm literally splitting my middle finger down the right side of the nail (right handed). I'm a machinist, so it's not like my callouses went away. I have new lifts, which are the same lifts I've always used. Am I just getting old, or should I be looking at a different type of lift? I've been using a wedge all my adult life.
    Did you get your grip refit when you came back? if not your grip has probably changed since then and is most likely giving you a fit issue. Go and get your grip checked.