AMF Euless Lanes to host 2009 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships


By Gene J. Kanak
USBC Communications

A field of elite collegiate bowlers from across the country will battle for national titles when the 2009 USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships are conducted at AMF Euless Lanes in Euless, Texas, this May.

This year's event, scheduled to take place May 17-19, will be the first hosted by AMF Euless Lanes, which is located just south of Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport and just north of the International Bowling Campus in Arlington, Texas.

"AMF is very excited to be part of this event," said Donnie Griffin, Dallas District Manager for AMF Bowling. "We realize that supporting collegiate bowling is important to the bowling industry. AMF Euless Lanes, with its wide concourse and new, state-of-the-art scoring, will be a great venue for the finals. It will be very comfortable for spectators and the teams, so we intend to promote the competition to bowlers in the Dallas area to encourage them to come out and watch the action."

The Intercollegiate Singles Championships is a USBC Sport Bowling-certified event that brings the top 16 male and top 16 female collegiate bowlers from across the country together in pursuit of a national title.

"The Intercollegiate Singles Championships brings together some of collegiate bowling's top student-athletes to compete in the premier collegiate singles tournament in the country," said Gary Brown, USBC Collegiate Manager. "AMF Euless Lanes will be a great host, so I expect spectators, coaches and competitors to be treated to a very positive experience."

Participants earn their places in the Intercollegiate Singles Championships field by finishing in the top four at one of four sectional tournaments, which will be held March 13, in Allentown, Pa., Chattanooga, Tenn., Fairview Heights, Ill., and Las Vegas.

Intercollegiate Singles Championships competition begins with two, six-game qualifying rounds. At the end of those 12 games, competitors are seeded for single-elimination, best-of-five match play. The top four qualifiers in each division earn byes into the quarterfinal round. Seeds five through eight earn first-round byes. Matches are conducted until national champions are crowned in each division.

The 2008 men's national title was captured by Rochester Institute of Technology's Dan Vick, who will attempt to earn his way back into the tournament field to defend his crown. Pikeville University's Jennifer Wright was the 2008 women's champion.