Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Explaining bowling ball specs

Default Explaining bowling ball specs

I'm still learning about bowling balls and I want to see if I got this right. Low RG compared to High RG is when a ball hooks? So a low Rg ball hooks earlier than a high RG ball?

And differential is Hook potential?

Banned
    Chats: 68

Quote Originally Posted by IHateTenPins View Post
    I'm still learning about bowling balls and I want to see if I got this right. Low RG compared to High RG is when a ball hooks? So a low Rg ball hooks earlier than a high RG ball?

And differential is Hook potential?
    Low RG compared to High RG.

Low RG requires less torque to accelerate the angular velocity.

Translated: The ball revs up easier.

That means the lower RG ball STOPS hooking sooner, because when the rev rate matches the ball speed the ball quits hooking.

The ball needs friction to begin hooking, and that's all due to the surface of the ball.

The RG (high or low) has no effect on when the ball begins to hook.

Differential is related to flare potential.

That is connected to how quickly the ball will sense a significant increase in friction as it exits the oil pattern.

A ball with no flare will still be tracking along where there is oil on the surface of the ball when it has exited the oil pattern.

Some of that oil will be re-deposited onto the lane each revolution.

That re-depositing is the cause of carry down.

A ball that flares, but thrown before the oil is absorbed, (or wiped off) will cause more carry down than a non-flaring ball.
    Last edited by Mike White; 05-11-2016 at 02:31 PM.

SandBagger
    Chats: 0

Doesn't the layout also modify the way the ball will react? a 40x4"x30 has a different result than a 65x5"x50 on the same ball and PAP.

Super Moderator
    Blog Entries
    Chats: 554

RG: Radius Of Gyration.
    The RG of a bowling ball tells you how soon the core is designed to roll.