Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good morning from a total beginner

Default Good morning from a total beginner

Hey everyone!

I'm brand new to the hobby. I went bowling for the first time in probably 10 years this past summer. Since then I've been about 8 times, and finally decided I want to learn how to properly bowl. This past week, I picked up my first ball (Ebonite Cyclone) and had it drilled finger tip. I'm trying to get the grip down, but I think the thumb hole needs some slight adjusting.

So what is your best advice for someone brand new to the hobby? I cant hook, shoot spares consistently, and don't know what I'm doing. That said I'm excited to learn!

Chats: 10

Welcome. I was in your shoes 4 years agar after someone in my work asked me to join a league. Had no shoes, no ball, couldn't hook the ball, barely get 100 pins a game. Four years later, I'm averaging 200. A lot of practice and learning from these boards have helped a lot. Biggest piece of advice, have fun! With summer coming, I suggest if you live by a Brunswick zone is to get their summer games pass where you get 3 games a day every day for about two months for $35. Key part to get your score up is making spares. Good luck.
    In my bag: Roto Grip UFO, Roto Grip Hyper Cell Fused and Roto Grip Hustle hyb

League High Series: 745 (12/23/19) High Game: 300 (11/23/15)

Proud member of BowlingBoards.com

Thanks for the encouragement! I actually just bought my wife and I the summer pass, May 22 can't come soon enough. Hopefully I've got some of the basics down by that points.

Ringer
    Chats: 0

Welcome to the site!!

Chats: 1