Thread: Stupid Question - I Know

Chats: 55

Default Stupid Question - I Know

Please don't chastise me for this stupid question. I will be talking with my PSO sometime, but in the meantime am very curious.

I am a right-handed bowler. I use IT thumb grips and due to injuries and swelling issues have about 5 different sizes...maybe more.

I have been experiencing pain in my right elbow and have been side-lined from bowling. For how long, no one knows.

If, and this is a BIG IF, I were to attempt to bowl left-handed, would I be able to utilize the IT thumb grips I currently have as long as the size was correct? I wouldn't want to go to a huge expense of getting new balls, and grips for a temporary change. I really depend on my PSO for my drilling needs and thus, I am not experienced enough to understand the ins-and-outs of ball drilling.
    Proud member of bowlingboards.com bowling forums & winner of bowling ball give-away!
    High Series - 704; High Game - 290 (a long time ago) Current Average - 150

Chats: 221

Biggest issue would depend on pitch. If it is differentthan for your right hand the IT will stick up above the surface of the ball
    Still love the game but had to quit because of my left leg amptation
    High game 299 x 5 High sanctioned series 805 (1989)

Super Moderator
    Blog Entries
    Chats: 554

Quote Originally Posted by classygranny View Post
    Please don't chastise me for this stupid question. I will be talking with my PSO sometime, but in the meantime am very curious.

I am a right-handed bowler. I use IT thumb grips and due to injuries and swelling issues have about 5 different sizes...maybe more.
    I have been experiencing pain in my right elbow and have been side-lined from bowling. For how long, no one knows.
    Sounds like tennis elbow, You can get a Master Elbow strap (or similar tennis elbow strap) works good, It helped clear it up for me years ago. I wear one all the time now to help prevent it and their cheap.