Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Increasing ball speed for a 2-hander

Chats: 0

Default Increasing ball speed for a 2-hander

I am new to bowling 2-handed. I am into my 2nd season. Even though my ball speed has improved from when I bowled with my thumb in the ball, I am finding that with the large increase in rev rate, and the less volume of oil I typically bowl on, I am in a need for some more speed.

Any tips, drills, suggestions on how I can achieve this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Bowling Guru
    Chats: 13

Quote Originally Posted by Smiley1994 View Post
    I am new to bowling 2-handed. I am into my 2nd season. Even though my ball speed has improved from when I bowled with my thumb in the ball, I am finding that with the large increase in rev rate, and the less volume of oil I typically bowl on, I am in a need for some more speed.

Any tips, drills, suggestions on how I can achieve this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
    Traditionally bowlers regulated ball speed with changing the height of their push-away, generating a higher back swing and there for yielding a higher speed. Obviously the two hand approach limits the height of the back swing. You will have to increase ball speed by moving back on the approach and accelerating your steps. Or in the words of Dr. Who, "RUN!!!"
    John

Chats: 2

Thanks!
    There really is nothing to do with drill to increase ball speed. Being a 2-hander myself, most of it is in footwork and timing. I actually find that the faster my feet are, the slower the ball rolls. Try to develop a smooth approach, minimize any air time (trust me, no matter how hard you try to get rid of it, there is air between 3-4 step if you take a 5 step), and stay behind the ball. I have worked a ton in the last few years with my off hand placement. Further on top of the ball means more forward roll, which gets the ball to read a bit sooner, hand toward the side, ball picks up later down lane.