Thread: Did he miss my fit?

Default Did he miss my fit?

Recently got my first bowling ball, and had it drilled for a fingertip grip.

When the guy measured my hand span on the (wheelie thing?), my hand was pretty relaxed, and not pulled taut or anything. It went way past the 5" limit on his measurement, so he had to guess at it.

I'm pretty sure he got it wrong, but he gently refuses to lengthen it. I've been back for 2 adjustments, in which he added a thumb slug, and then fingertip grips, which seemed to lengthen it a tiny bit.

I might very well be wrong about this, as I'm not experienced in ball fitting whatsoever. But when I hang the ball loosely at my side, I can relax my grip completely and 'let it hang', because my joints are wedged into it. However, if I try to curl it, like one would do in a backswing, I am mainly pulling with my thumb to do so. My palm is never flat against the ball - there's probably a 1/4-1/2" gap there, no matter what. Shouldn't I be able to palm it?

Also - and I know this is really hard to explain - My thumb is rather loose in the hole, there's never a catch or anything. Some of the forum posts seem to indicate that there should be a very slight 'squeeze' on the thumb, to the point that the ball can't fall off of it?

Super Moderator
    Blog Entries
    Chats: 554

Quote Originally Posted by GrumpyCatFace View Post
    Recently got my first bowling ball, and had it drilled for a fingertip grip.

When the guy measured my hand span on the (wheelie thing?), my hand was pretty relaxed, and not pulled taut or anything. It went way past the 5" limit on his measurement, so he had to guess at it.
    One of these? A BT ball fitter goes up to 6" and your span went past that!!!!!!!! Somebody is looking at something wrong or you have monster big hands.

To double check your span.