Thread: Becoming a bowling coach?

Default Becoming a bowling coach?

Hi all.

Long time, no post. I've been considering becoming a USBC Level 1 bowling coach. My question is: Is it worth it if I don't bowl in tournaments, etc? And is level 1 enough? I would go higher, but I don't really want to take a couple of days off for a seminar for the other levels. I don't really see how I could promote myself (if I wanted to) as a USBC certified coach if I'm only a level 1 coach and don't bowl in tournaments.

If anything, I can use it to improve my own bowling game, though.

Thoughts?

Chats: 0

A level 1 coach is just an online test for $49. The material seems is pretty basic stuff. You don't have to be in tournaments to teach others. The levels (1, bronze etc) at least where I work mean you can charge more the higher level you are. Plus as in anything the higher level you are the more skilled people are going to come to you. I doubt as a level 1 you'd get too many 240 average bowlers asking for coaching. Then again you never know. It depends on the reputation you build for yourself as a coach. I've met several coaches now at my work and I can't say higher level means better. Everyone has their own methods as well as opinions, it just matters if they are compatible with what you are looking to get out of the lesson.

Taking the online test to improve your own game in my opinion wouldn't be money well spent. You'd get more out of watching Norm Duke videos and those are free. I need to take the online test at some point soon to become "official" for work. I help out coaching kids one two of the leagues. They are mainly 10 and under kids so 99% of what you tell them they pay little attention to unless your creative.
    Bowling Center Manager
    Arsenal consists of mainly 15# Motiv balls, I have several now and they are the bomb! Too many to list and carry. Still have a couple Hammer balls and my AMF RPM Swirl (old reliable) & 25+yr old Linds worth a mention