Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: At my ropes end.

Default At my ropes end.

I have been bowling on and off for many years. After a long layoff I will usually come back and establish a 150, 160 average. After I bowl a year or so I get my game back and carry a High 180 to mid 190 average and would maintain that. From my last layoff, things went according to plan and I improved to mid 190's to low 200's, and bowl like that for a couple of years.
    Now I have fallen into a major slump that has lasted over a year and a half. I have spent thousands of dollars on lesson some from very well known bowlers and practice time but none seems to help. The game has stopped being fun and I'm at a point I just go out to throw up a score to keep my wife happy, since she is improving and enjoying the game. Every few dozen games I will roll a high 500 series but then 2 days later I'm struggling to roll a a 350. Yeah, that's how bad things have become. My current average is right at 145 for the leagues I bowl, all at the same house. My wife told me to try a new ball, I talked to my pro and that didn't help either. I know most people will say just keep trying, but none of them have gone through this. It's really hard to stay positive when you get kicked in the gut multiple times a week only to churn out a halfway respectable 500 series every 2 or 3 months. I'm at the point that I am seriously trying to get $50 bucks for $1200 worth of equipment and throwing a house ball, I really don't see how it could hurt.

Cranker
    Chats: 0