Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi Folks, New Bowler Here!

Cool Hi Folks, New Bowler Here!

Hello everybody,

Y'all can call me Daisy. I'm fairly new to bowling, and I'm still learning to improve my game, so I thought that this forum would be as good a place as any to glean tips and info that might assist me in my Great Bowling Journey.

Please keep in mind that I am not yet very familiar with the colorful vocabulary of "real" bowlers, so if somebody says something about mixers or dead buzzards and I respond with a redneck-sounding "HUH?! I dunno what you mean...", I implore you not to laugh at me. Or at least not loud enough that I can hear it. ;-)

About me: I'm a 22 year old gal. I'm a straight bowler mainly, but I'm working on my backhand hook, which for some strange reason comes more naturally to me than a normal hook. I bowl with an 11 pound ball, which might very well be one of the least used weights, but it seems to work for me. My scores are not good at this point in time, but they are improving gradually (which is much better than getting worse). My current high is a measly 142, but I know with time and practice that will change. After all, I haven't even been bowling for a year. Where have I been all bowling's life?

I look forward to getting to know you all.

Daisy

Chats: 204

Welcome. I think you're the 2nd girl since 2014...so I like that we're adding diversity!

Quote Originally Posted by Aslan View Post
    Welcome. I think you're the 2nd girl since 2014...so I like that we're adding diversity!
    Haha, well thank you!

I wonder why gals as a general rule just aren't as good at bowling as the guys are? (It's not mean or sexist when it comes from a girl. ) And many of them don't seem as motivated as the guys to up their game. I'm not very good right now, but at least I'm motivated to get better.

Chats: 55

Welcome Daisy!