Thread: Ball Motion Question

Chats: 55

Default Ball Motion Question

This may be a stupid question, but I'm asking anyway as I am still learning about reading ball motion, ball reactions, etc.

I understand that when a ball loses energy it tends to hit like a marshmallow, and I have seen that happen with others' bowling balls. (Still learning to read my own.)

My bowling partner and I bowl at a Brunswick/Bowlero house that has just remodeled and we've been told they have changed the oil they have been using. The lanes appear to be a bit drier on the outside (of 8 board) and have a large skid area down lane inside at about 14 board @ 43'.

My teammate has been struggling big time lately. For some reason, her ball speed has increased from about 14.5 to 15.-15.2. When she plays outside with the Hyper Cell Fused or the Crux or the Halo Pearl, the ball never turns the corner and tends to slide by the headpin for a washout when she shoots anywhere around 5-10 board. Is the ball possibly losing energy and we just don't recognize it, since it isn't a pocket marshmallow hit? Should she be throwing a ball with a little less energy, like the Timeless, or Intense Fire, or the Hustle and aim it a little bit from corner to pocket if necessary?
    Proud member of bowlingboards.com bowling forums & winner of bowling ball give-away!
    High Series - 704; High Game - 290 (a long time ago) Current Average - 150

Chats: 221

I would say try the weaker pieces and see how they react. If they react well then t is quite possible and more probable they are burning up. If she wants to stay with the stronger pieces she will need to move left and open up here angles to catch more head oil
    Still love the game but had to quit because of my left leg amptation
    High game 299 x 5 High sanctioned series 805 (1989)

High Roller
    Chats: 0