Thread: Just started bowling.

Default Just started bowling.

My Husband and I just started bowling together.. I use to bowl on a league about 7 years ago.. I never had my own bowl and shoes or anything. So my husband and I just went to the pro shop and bought an entry level package with shoes and ball and bag, we didn't won't to spend a lot since we are both just starting out and we both suck LOL.
    Anyways how do you know what kind of style you bowl.. I have no clue. I am just learning the different terms.. Even though I bowled on a league I really just did it for fun and didn't learn much..
    Would also like to chat with those that are just starting out too..

Chats: 0

Welcome back to the bowling world. I for one am a Bowling Addict and have not found a 12 step program yet .

As far as style, each person develops their own. As a lefty, I was pretty much on my own to figure it all out. All my friends were righties. After about 4 years I actually took a formal lesson and then took a learn to bowl class offered at a local center.

One of the best ways to learn, if you cannot afford a coach, is to watch and talk to some of the better bowlers. Don't be afraid to ask questions, some will be jerks but most will welcome the opportunity to help out a beginner. The most important thing is to have fun.
    USBCBronze Coach
    UCLABruin Fan

I am a proud member of BowlingBoards.com Bowling Forums

Lefty - ball speed as measured by Qubica 15 - 16 mph
    High Game: 278 High Series: 716 High Ave: 194
    Current Highs: Ave 165 , Game 268, Series 597
    Current Equipment in use:
    Brunswick - Fury Pearl; Ebonite - GameBreaker, WhirlWind;
    Columbia - Blue Dot
    Other Equipment used sometimes:
    Brunswick - Smokin' Inferno; Ebonite - Bash, Total NV; Hammer - Black Widow; Lane#1 - Viper

Chats: 3

Iceman made a really good post about this topic in another thread. I'll quote him here so you can see it.

Quote Originally Posted by Iceman View Post