Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To League or NOT To League?

What is Bowling?
    Chats: 0

Default To League or NOT To League?

I've been bowling for a few months now. All the people at the lanes push you to join a league. Most of the leagues are anywhere from $15 to $20 a week. My location charges $5.75 a game for normal play. I usually bowl 2 to 3 games a night (once a week). I guess my real question is, what are the advantages of being in a league?

Mack Daddy
    Blog Entries
    Chats: 1

To League or Not to League, that is the question-
    If you're bowling just to practice or for fun, open bowling is great. But league bowling holds a number of advantages:
    1-Social networking. As stated in this forum before, nothing beats facebook better than a bowling center. It doesnt matter if you average 110 or 210, its a place to relax and have fun.
    2-Competition-this is where the practice pays off. Even in singles competition, nothing beats a team environment.
    3-Learning-Where else is the best place to learn how to make your game better? Books are great, but actually seeing someone do what is described in that book is better. Every league has a know-it-all, but for every know-it-all, there are 5 guys who actually know what they're talking about and willing to help with your game.

Talk to your center manager about league openings and when the meetings are held. The managers and owners I've talked to over the summer have bent over backwards to help find a league that fits, and I'm sure they'll do the same for you.
    There's always one off center in the rack

Info: AVG 206, Stroker, Righty, Gladiator Pearl, Track The Rising, Hammer Rayzr, Storm Virtual Gravity, Storm Reign, PBA Platinum

Wish List-Hammer Jigsaw

I am a proud member of BowlingBoards.com Bowling Forums