Thread: Rules for Throwing Old Association Records Away

What is Bowling?
    Chats: 0

Default Rules for Throwing Old Association Records Away

I am an Association Manager for our local Women's Leagues. We have an entire storage unit full of awards, fiscal records, etc. We are wanting to roast hotdogs some night over a lot of paperwork but are wondering the rules for disposition of these records. I understand that tax records (fiscal paperwork) should be kept until you are beyond an IRS audit which I believe is 7 years.

Any suggestions or legal document reference would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Founder/Owner

Blog Entries
    Chats: 651

Quote Originally Posted by 11inarow View Post
    I am an Association Manager for our local Women's Leagues. We have an entire storage unit full of awards, fiscal records, etc. We are wanting to roast hotdogs some night over a lot of paperwork but are wondering the rules for disposition of these records. I understand that tax records (fiscal paperwork) should be kept until you are beyond an IRS audit which I believe is 7 years.

Any suggestions or legal document reference would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Although this might not be what you are looking for, I have also added the number of someone to call.

"
    Rules You Can Use - League financial procedures (Rules 102c and 102f)

1/11/2008

Whether your league is just starting or has existed since the fall, it's always good to know the proper rules for handling your members' weekly fees.

For example, did you know that both the league treasurer and league president play important roles in this process? Making sure both people do the right thing will save headaches come the end of the season.

Here are some key steps to take to make sure league finances are properly handled: