Thread: Buying my first bowling ball

Default Buying my first bowling ball

Hi! I haven't had the opportunity to bowl seriously, keeping up a, 130 average with a 25 year old AMF Bobcat. But I have finally decided to get my own ball, join an intro league, and start getting my average up. I am in the market for a new ball but have been unsure where to start. I have spent the last day or so on bowlingball.com look at different balls and learning what all the numbers mean. Primarily I would like a ball that is...

1) forgiving in most lane conditions
    2) has a sharper hook rather than a long curve
    3) and of course something that would be good for an Intro ball

I have narrowed my search to a few balls that match the style of bowling I'd like to throw. Again I am very new to this so I don't necessarily know which ball would be good for me. I found these balls based on reviews and based on prices.

900 Global - Sure Thing ($110)
    Hammer - Nail Smoke and Fire ($98)
    Brunswick - Loaded Revolver ($80)
    DV8 - Too Reckless ($115)
    Storm - Frantic ($108)
    Hammer - Arson ($115)
    900 Global - The Eagle LAST ONE ($109)
    Brunswick - C(system) alpha-max MEGA DEAL ($95)

So far my favorites are the Sure Thing and the Nail Smoke and Fire because they seem like forgiving balls which would be nice for a beginner like me.

I know that the next step is to go into a pro shop and ask questions. But I am unsure what quetions to ask.

If you have any comments on any of these balls or would like to recommend some that are not on this list I would love to hear it! Thanks!